Blueseum - Online Carlton Football Club Museum

Inception Blues

In Round 1, 1897, 20 young men ran out in Navy Blue for the first Carlton game in the VFL / AFL.

The inaugural squad included the following players: Jimmy Aitken, Ernie Walton, Bill Ahern, Bob Armstrong, Tom Blake, Otto Buck, Bob Cameron, Bill Casey, Arthur Cummins, Henry Dunne, Brook Hannah, Ted Heffernan, George Johnston, Henry McPetrie, Wally O'Cock, Joe Paton, Jack Reekie, Tom Sweetman, Bill Weir and Bill Woodhouse.

15 members of this side had played for Carlton in the VFA, and crossed over with us. 5 new players for the day were:

Bill Ahern (Preston)
Arthur Cummins (Castlemaine)
George Johnston (Albert Park)
Henry McPetrie (Richmond City/St. Kilda VFA/West Beach)
Tom Sweetman (Ascot Vale)

The Inception Blues of course represent Player Numbers 1 to 20 in Carlton's history. Jimmy Aitken, as our first Captain, is recognised as our first player, whilst Ernie Walton, as our first Vice Captain, is recognised as our second. Thereafter, the player numbering is via alphabetical order making Bill Ahern player number 3 and Bill Woodhouse player number 20.

Round 1, 1897 | Debuts | Debuts 1897 to 1899 | Pre VFL