Gardiner Medal

The Gardiner Medal -Instituted seven years after the formation of the League seconds, The Gardiner Medal was named after the late Frank Gardiner, president of the competition. In 1959 the seconds was renamed the VFL reserve grade. The medal was awarded to the best and fairest player as adjudged by field umpires until the reserves competition was terminated at the end of the 1999 season. In April 1992, three players, who had previously been eliminated on a countback, were awarded retrospectively for seasons 1950, 1970 and 1971.1

Carlton Winners

1940: Albert 'Mick' Price
1973: Vin Catoggio
1976: Alan Mangels

Reserves | Reserves Awards | Lower Grades

Contributors to this page: blueycarlton , Bombasheldon , molsey and Jarusa .
Page last modified on Friday 21 of November, 2014 18:51:17 AEDT by blueycarlton.

Google Search

Random Image

1989 Rd 13 - Blues take Jezza's advice.
1988 Rd 4 - Players' Stats Vs Sydney Swans.

Online Users

181 online users