Menu Page: Links to all Pre-Season and Night Series competitions entered into by the Blues

Pre-Season or Night Series Games

1950's 1960's 1970's
1956 Night Series
1957 Night Series
1958 Night Series
1960 Night Series
1961 Night Series
1963 Night Series
1964 Night Series
1965 Night Series
1966 Night Series
1971 Night Series
1977 Night Series
1978 Night Series
1979 Night Series

1980's 1990's 2000's 2010's 2020's
1980 Night Series
1981 Night Series
1982 Night Series
1983 Night Series
1984 Night Series
1985 Night Series
1986 Night Series
1987 Night Series
1988 Pre-Season
1989 Pre-Season
1990 Pre-Season
1991 Pre-Season
1992 Pre-Season
1993 Pre-Season
1994 Pre-Season
1995 Pre-Season
1996 Pre-Season
1997 Pre-Season
1998 Pre-Season
1999 Pre-Season
2000 Pre-Season
2001 Pre-Season
2002 Pre-Season
2003 Pre-Season
2004 Pre-Season
2005 Pre-Season
2006 Pre-Season
2007 Pre-Season
2008 Pre-Season
2009 Pre-Season
2010 Pre-Season
2011 Pre-Season
2012 Pre-Season
2013 Pre-Season
2014 Pre-Season
2015 Pre-Season
2016 Pre-Season
2017 Pre-Season
2018 Pre-Season
2019 Pre-Season
2020 Pre-Season

The Pre-Season / Night competitions have taken various forms over the years. First was the Night Series that ran from 1956 to 1971. It was played by the 8 clubs that missed the Final 4. It ran through September and extended into October on a couple of occasions. The introduction of the Final 5 in 1972 left only 7 teams available and killed off the competition.

The second phase was from 1977 to 1986. It kicked off in the pre-season but mostly ran until July. The winners are called Mid-season premiers. The format and number of teams varied from year to year. Some of the years included all of the SANFL and WAFL clubs and rep teams from Tas, Qld, NSW & ACT. Sometimes only the top teams from SA & WA were involved. A maximum of 34 teams competed in 1980 & 1981.

1987 was the first year of the competition that we have today as it became exclusively for VFL clubs. Some might recognise 1988 as the start of the truly pre-season competition because in 1987 the final was at the end of April. The Blueseum tracks Carlton's performances in all of these competitions through this page.

Overall, the Blues have won 4 Pre-Season / Night Series Premierships: 1983, 1997, 2005 & 2007.

The Blueseum tracks all players to have played in the Pre-Season / Night Series competitions as outlined above in 2 main ways:

Links to the Summaries of the Most Games and Goals by Carlton players during the Pre-Season/Night Series (1956 and 2020)

In addition to the above playing records, Brendan Fevola also holds the record for most goals in a Pre-Season/Night Series match: 12 v Collingwood on New Years Eve, 1999.

Michael Tuck Medal | Premierships | Pre-Season / Night Series Premierships | Pre-Season Runners Up | "Night" Series League Coach Summary |
Pre-season/Night Series Match Summary
Contributors to this page: WillowBlue , Bombasheldon , molsey , BlueWorld , true_blue24 and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 14 of March, 2020 11:50:20 AEDT by WillowBlue.

Google Search

Random Image

Marc Murphy.
1988 Qual. Final - The Real Carlton.

Online Users

141 online users