Carlton lost to Fremantle by 47 points - Subiaco. Carlton welcomed 9 new players.

Round 1, 2004

Carlton 3.3 21 5.6 36 8.9 57 8.12 60
Fremantle 5.3 33 9.9 63 13.12 90 15.17 107
Venue: Subiaco Date: Sat Mar 27, 2004
Result: Loss by 47 points Umpires: Crowd: 34,177
Goalkickers: Fevola 3, Camporeale, Kenna, Lappin, Morrell, Scotland
Reports: Lappin (charging)- cleared Injuries:

Game Review

This game would be remarkable for the large number of players all making their debut for Carlton together: 9 in total...the most since 1899! Jordan Bannister, David Clarke, Daniel Harford, Brett Johnson, Digby Morrell, Heath Scotland and David Teague had all previously played with other AFL clubs, while Adrian Deluca and Stephen Kenna would play their first AFL games, having both been recruited from the VFL.

Almost no team could have been expected to travel to Perth to take on Fremantle in hot conditions and beat them, let alone one with as many changes in personnel as that. While the Blues lacked quality, experience and cohesion, they did not lack endeavour and bravely fought the match out. Neither Koutoufides nor Stevens were available for this game and might have made a difference.

Ryan Houlihan with 26 disposals, Matthew Lappin with 22 and Trent Sporn with 17 were key contributors, providing drive out of defence, while Jordan Bannister would quieten the dangerous Pavlich.


B: 15 David Teague 32 Bret Thornton 37 Karl Norman
HB: 33 Ryan Houlihan 8 Lance Whitnall (vc) 36 Trent Sporn
C: 29 Heath Scotland 10 Brett Johnson 9 David Clarke jnr
HF: 12 Matthew Lappin 3 Digby Morrell 2 Daniel Harford
F: 14 Brad Fisher 25 Brendan Fevola 26 Adrian Deluca
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 31 Jordan Bannister 16 Scott Camporeale (a/c)
Interchange: 17 Stephen Kenna 27 Darren Hulme 28 Ian Prendergast
34 Simon Wiggins
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Justin Davies Cory McGrath Anthony Franchina


Debut: Adrian Deluca and Stephen Kenna
Debut (Carlton): Jordan Bannister, David Clarke jnr, Daniel Harford, Brett Johnson, Digby Morrell, Heath Scotland and David Teague
Score Records: This was the final loss of Carlton's equal third-longest losing streak in our history

Brownlow Votes

3: Peter Bell (FRE)
2: Byron Schammer (FRE)
1: Aaron Sandilands (FRE)

Best & Fairest Votes

Trent Sporn (37), Jordan Bannister (32), Ryan Houlihan (30), Matthew Lappin (25), Karl Norman (19), David Teague, Lance Whitnall (17), Bret Thornton (16), Barnaby French (8), Scott Camporeale (5)

2004 | Round 2
Contributors to this page: molsey , WillowBlue , BlueWorld , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Monday 04 of August, 2008 22:12:08 AEST by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

1978 - Future Premiership Blue; Perth's Earl Spalding on the mark.
1987 Rd 15 - Peter Dean flies high to take a safe mark.

Online Users

134 online users