Carlton lost to Fremantle by 28 points - Subiaco. Ratten played his final game for the Blues.

Round 10, 2003

Carlton 3.1 19 6.4 40 11.7 73 15.9 99
Fremantle 7.5 47 12.8 80 15.9 99 19.13 127
Venue: Subiaco
Date: Sat May 31, 2003 Result: Loss by 28 points
Umpires: Schmitt, Margetts, Woodcock Crowd: 33,250
Goalkickers: Fevola 5, Fisher, Waite, Murphy 2, Wiggins, Thornton, Houlihan, Lappin 1
Reports: Nil Injuries: Ratten (shoulder)

Game Review

The match was tight early but the Dockers slowly took control. The Blues fought back in the third quarter, kicking the first 3 goals and reducing the margin to 21 points but could get no closer. They managed to stay in touch for the remainder of the match, only going down by 28 points. Carlton had no answer for Medhust, who kicked 7 goals despite 4 different opponents.

Simon Fletcher was Carlton's leading disposal winner with 26, although he would not have played had it not been for Camporeale's late withdrawal. Anthony Koutoufides had 24. Jarrad Waite had 21 and kicked 2 goals and would earn a Rising Star nomination. Brendan Fevola kicked 5 goals.

Captain Brett Ratten would end up playing his 255th and last game, after getting driven into the ground in a tackle, damaging his shoulder. Andrew McKay would take over as captain for the remainder of the season.


B: 5 Andrew McKay (vc) 10 Mick Martyn 29 Simon Beaumont
HB: 30 Jarrad Waite 37 Karl Norman 12 Matthew Lappin
C: 33 Ryan Houlihan 7 Brett Ratten (c) 36 Trent Sporn
HF: 41 Jonathon McCormick 32 Bret Thornton 9 Adrian Hickmott (dvc)
F: 2 Corey McKernan 25 Brendan Fevola 43 Anthony Koutoufides
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 18 Justin Murphy 27 Darren Hulme
31 Simon Fletcher, 34 Simon Wiggins, 14 Brad Fisher, 40 Jim Plunkett
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Anthony Franchina Matthew Allan Simon Fletcher*
In: Brad Fisher Simon Wiggins Jim Plunkett
Out: Justin Davies, Luke Livingston, Scott Camporeale (hamstring)*

-* Late change Fletcher for Camporeale


Last game: Brett Ratten
Rising Star Nominee: Jarrad Waite
Odd fact: Bret Thornton would kick his first AFL goal. He would have to wait over 5 years for his next goal at senior level!

Brownlow Votes

3: Paul Medhurst (FRE)
2: Paul Hasleby (FRE)
1: Simon Fletcher (CARL)

Round 9 | Round 11
Contributors to this page: molsey , WillowBlue , BlueWorld , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Sunday 15 of June, 2008 20:11:41 AEST by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

1986 GF - Peter Dean flies over Peter Curran.
1996 - Blues dominate Rep. Squads.

Online Users

345 online users