Carlton defeated South Melbourne by 25 points at the Lakeside Oval.

Round 12, 1939

Carlton 3.4 22 5.10 40 14.13 97 16.17 113
Sth Melbourne 2.4 16 4.7 31 10.10 70 12.16 88
Venue: Lakeside Oval
Date: Saturday 8 July 1939
Result: Win by 25 points
Crowd: 14,000
Goalkickers: P.Schmidt 4.4, R.Cooper 4.1, K.Baxter 2.1, J.Wrout 2.6, K.Fox 1.0, R.Savage 1.0, J.Skinner 1.3, M.Crisp 1.0. H.Hollingshead 0.1, rushed 0.1
Umpire: Murphy
Injuries: F.Gill (toe) replaced by J.Jones at quarter time. K. Fox (shoulder and sprained ankle), K. Baxter (severely bruised hip), J. Wrout (leg).
Best: R. Cooper (BOG), J.Hale, K.Baxter, R.Savage, J.Park, P.Schmidt, J.Wrout, D.McIntyre, J.Skinner.

Game Review

Despite 6 goals to their champion Bob Pratt, South Melbourne were comfortably beaten by a disciplined and determined Carlton team. Back up to fifth, the Blues were once again poised for a shot at the finals.

"Superior collaboration in attack, smarter ground work, more effective defensive methods and better play, together with an incentive to win to remain in final four discussions, enabled Carlton to score a clear-cut win over South. The outstanding feature of the match was the remarkable scoring burst in the dazzling third term, when both sides played the fast, open game, and aggregated 15 goals 6 behinds for the quarter." (The Age).

The Blues led by 9 points at half time; "With bewildering suddenness South came to light on resumption, and, paralysing the opposition, rattled on goals to Pratt, McNamara (2), and Rieffel, and shot to the front. This inspired effort was short lived, however. Realising the seriousness of their position, the Blues steadied, and, with the imperturbable Cooper playing slashing football, they gradually regained the ascendancy. With delighful zig-zagging passing in attack, Carlton added goal after goal, and led by 27 points at "lemon" time." (The Age)

At the end of this round Carlton were in 5th spot on the ladder with a percentage of 113.9.


B: 2 Don McIntyre 21 Frank Gill 26 Jim Park
HB: 10 Jim Francis (acting capt.) 4 Ken Baxter 1 Frank Anderson
C: 7 Jack Carney 12 Creswell 'Mickey' Crisp 32 Bob Green
HF: 8 Jack Skinner 28 Jack Wrout 19 Ron Cooper
F: 14 Rod McLean 27 Kevin Fox 23 Paul Schmidt
Ruck: 24 Ron Savage 17 Harry Hollingshead 11 Jack Hale
19th Man: 22 Jim Jones
Coach: Brighton Diggins


Last Game: Kevin Fox

Round 11 | Round 13
Contributors to this page: Jarusa , WillowBlue , Bombasheldon , blueycarlton , PatsFitztrick , molsey , timmyd , camelboy , Mrs.O and admin .
Page last modified on Tuesday 14 of January, 2020 00:58:43 AEDT by Jarusa.

Google Search

Random Image

1983 - Future Blue; Warren Ralph kicks a bag.
1993 - Buzz on recruiting mission (29/09/93).

Online Users

144 online users