Carlton defeated Brisbane by 44 points at the Gabba. Lance Whitnall bagged 9 goals, and Kouta picked up 33 disposals.

Round 16, 2000

Brisbane Lions2.4164.83215.89817.10112
Venue: GabbaDate: Sunday June 25, 2000
Result: Win by 44 pointsUmpires: Crowd: 37,743 (record).
Goalkickers: L.Whitnall 9, A.Koutoufides 3, A.Hickmott 3, A.Hamill 2, B.Ratten 1, S.Camporeale 1, A.Christou 1, A.Franchina 1, S.Freeborn 1, S.Fletcher 1.
Best: L.Whitnall, B.Ratten, A.Koutoufides, S.Camporeale, A.McKay, C.Bradley, A.Franchina, S.Fletcher.
Reports: Injuries:

Game Review

The Blue juggernaut continued on with this win against the Lions, with Lance Whitnall scoring a career-high 9 goals, and Kouta adding another three from 33 disposals. That 'other' juggernaut of 2000 - the Essendon Bombers - remained unbeaten at this stage of the year, (indeed they would only lose once all season) and sat three games clear of Carlton at the top of the ladder.

In the week prior to this match, Brisbane's Jarrod Molloy predicted to the local press that not only would he pick up the in-form Lance Whitnall but that he'd beat him pointlessly. Whitnall responded by waltzing around, over and through Molloy all match, and finished up with a mammoth nine goals to his credit.

Ironically, the pundits had Brisbane entering this game as favourites ontheir home turf, despite Carlton having won their previous ten games.


B: 23 Dean Rice 1 Stephen Silvagni (vc) 29 Simon Beaumont
HB: 5 Andrew McKay 39 Ang Christou 10 Michael Mansfield
C: 31 Simon Fletcher 7 Brett Ratten 9 Adrian Hickmott
HF: 4 Aaron Hamill 37 Trent Hotton 16 Scott Camporeale
F: 27 Darren Hulme 8 Lance Whitnall 21 Craig Bradley (c)
Ruck: 11 Mark Porter 43 Anthony Koutoufides 45 Anthony Franchina
12 Matthew Lappin, 26 Stephen O'Reilly, 17 Scott Freeborn, 3 Kris Massie
Coach: David Parkin
Emg: Brett Backwell Heath Culpitt Glenn Manton
In: Scott Freeborn Kris Massie Mark Porter
Out: Matthew Allan (knee), Ryan Houlihan, Andrew Merrington


Score Records: This would be Carlton's last win at the Gabba until 2008.

Brownlow Votes

3: Lance Whitnall (CARL)
2: Craig Bradley (CARL)
1: Anthony Koutoufides (CARL)

Round 15 | Round 17
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , PatsFitztrick , molsey , hatbadges , true_blue24 , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Monday 10 of June, 2013 20:21:45 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

152 online users