Carlton lost to Sydney by 31 points - Optus Oval.

Round 16, 2003

Carlton 2.2 14 3.5 23 8.8 56 12.12 84
Sydney 7.2 44 12.5 77 15.6 96 18.7 115
Venue: Optus Oval
Date: Sat July 19, 2003 Result: Loss by 31 points
Umpires: Head, Nicholls, Margetts Crowd: 21,460
Goalkickers: Fevola 6, Hickmott, Beasy 2, Camporeale, Prendergast 1
Injuries: Angwin (shoulder), McKay (strained adductor)Reports: Nil

Game Review

The match looked like being another thrashing for the Blues in the first half, managing just 3 goals to the Swans' 12, to be 54 points down at half time. But the Blues fought back in the second half, outscoring the Swans 9 goals to 6, to go down by a more respectable 31 points, after getting as close as 19 points.

Brendan Fevola kicked six goals. Callan Beasy, playing his first game of the season, kicked two. Anthony Koutoufides was Carlton's leading possession winner with 27. Darren Hulme had 20 and was important in the midfield in the second half.

This would be Vice Captain Adrian Hickmott's final game. He would announce his retirement following this game, after a long battle with injuries. Former All Australian ruckman Matthew Allan would also never play for Carlton again with a post-season move to Essendon on the cards, while the decision to recruit Andrew Eccles would come to a disappointing end in this game also.


B: 29 Simon Beaumont 32 Bret Thornton 34 Simon Wiggins
HB: 5 Andrew McKay (c) 28 Ian Prendergast 12 Matthew Lappin
C: 30 Jarrad Waite 13 Justin Davies 45 Anthony Franchina
HF: 33 Ryan Houlihan 2 Corey McKernan 47 Laurence Angwin
F: 16 Scott Camporeale 25 Brendan Fevola 9 Adrian Hickmott (a/vc)
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 43 Anthony Koutoufides 27 Darren Hulme
24 Matthew Allan, 37 Karl Norman, 20 Andrew Eccles, 42 Callan Beasy
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Blake Campbell Glenn Manton Kade Simpson
In: Karl Norman Callan Beasy Ian Prendergast
Andrew Eccles Justin Davies Simon Wiggins
Out: Brad Fisher (shoulder) Michael Martyn (knee) Lance Whitnall (knee)
Simon Fletcher Justin Murphy Jon McCormick


Last games: Adrian Hickmott, Matthew Allan, Andrew Eccles

Brownlow Votes

3: Jude Bolton (SYD)
2: Adam Goodes (SYD)
1: Jason Ball (SYD)

Round 15 | Round 17
Contributors to this page: molsey , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 17 of November, 2012 20:31:37 AEDT by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

1984 - Former Blue; Perth's Peter Bosustow.
1977 Rd 12 - Kevin Heath kicks out of defence.

Online Users

167 online users