Carlton lost to Port Power by 23 points - AAMI. Almost a great comeback.

Round 19, 2007

Carlton0.334.6 3012.88014.993
Port Adelaide4.32710.76711.11 7717.14116
Venue: AAMI Stadium
Date: Sat 11 August 2007, 2:40pm Result: Loss by 23pts
Umpires: L Farmer D Margetts R Chamberlain Crowd: 27,603
Goalkickers: Fevola 4; Fisher 3; Simpson 2; Betts, Carrazzo, O'hAilpin, Saddington, Waite
Reports: D Motlop (Port Adelaide) reported by field umpire R Chamberlain for allegedly striking B Thornton (Carlton) in the fourth quarter- dismissed Injuries: Houlihan (corked thigh)

Game Review

After a shocking first half and a goalless first quarter, the Blues came out firing in the 3rd quarter and at one stage kicked 8 goals straight mainly off the back off Brendan Fevola's 4 goals in that term. The final term was a familiar story for the Blues who had won only 2 final quarters for that whole season but the 23 point margin wasn't a true indication of how close the game was. It was a very brave effort by the Blues and they definitely sent a scare through the 3rd-placed Port Adelaide team.

Heath Scotland was Carlton's leading ball-winner with 29 disposals. Jarrad Waite picked up 24 disposals, 11 marks and a goal while providing great run off the half-back line. Captain Kade Simpson tried his heart out and was the best player for the Blues with 20 disposals and 2 goals while Brad Fisher played his best game yet with 19 disposals, 13 marks and 3 goals.

Remarkably, this week's team was even younger than the preceding week owing to the incoming Walker being younger than the outgoing Bentick. Although the news that the Round 18 team was the youngest Carlton team in 37 years, and in fact, one of the 20 youngest to play for Carlton, made the news, this week's younger team received no fanfare whatsoever despite being the 21st youngest on record at the time. If one of the 2 young emergencies in Austin or Hampson had have played, it may have...


B:33 Ryan Houlihan 9 Jason Saddington 31 Jordan Bannister
HB: 6 Kade Simpson (a/c) 32 Bret Thornton 29 Heath Scotland
C: 2 Jordan Russell 44 Andrew Carazzo 16 Shaun Grigg
HF:30 Jarrad Waite 14 Brad Fisher 4 Bryce Gibbs
F: 13 Luke Blackwell 25 Brendan Fevola 19 Eddie Betts
Ruck: 11 Cain Ackland 3 Marc Murphy 1 Andrew Walker
Interchange:18 Paul Bower 38 Ryan Jackson 17 Setanta Ó hAilpín
40 Michael Jamison
Coach: Brett Ratten
Emg: 21 Mark Austin, 7 Adam Bentick, 22 Shaun Hampson
In: Andrew Walker
Out: Adam Bentick


Interesting fact: This team was even younger than the Round 18 team, given the inclusion of the younger Andrew Walker at the expense of Adam Bentick.

Brownlow Votes

3. Michael Wilson, Port Power
2. Brendan Lade, Port Power
1. Michael Pettigrew, Port Power

Best and Fairest Votes

Kade Simpson 22, Brad Fisher 18, Heath Scotland 16, Brendan Fevola 9, Jordan Bannister, Eddie Betts, Jason Saddington, Jarrad Waite, Michael Jamison 2

Round 18 | Round 20
Contributors to this page: molsey , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , true_blue24 and camelboy .
Page last modified on Sunday 01 of June, 2008 16:03:20 AEST by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

1988 - Fraser Murphy profile.
1981 Rd 19 - Rod Ashman clashes with Stevie Wright.

Online Users

192 online users