Carlton lost to Adelaide by 64 points - AAMI Stadium.

Round 9, 2006

Carlton 1.177.3458.3519.660
Adelaide 7.54710.66616.12 10818.16124
Venue: AAMI Stadium
Date: Sat 27 May 2006, 3:10pm Result: Loss by 64 points
Umpires: Kennedy, Sully, GrunCrowd: 41,157
Goalkickers: Lappin 3, Fevola 2, Murphy, Whitnall, Koutoufides, Simpson
Reports: NilInjuries: Nil

Game Review

After a disappointing loss to St Kilda in Round 8, Carlton swung the changes, dropping 4 players, on top of losing Waite to a knee injury, expected to sideline him for 6-8 weeks. They would be replaced by 5 players from its top of the ladder VFL affiliate, including Ian Prendergast, in his first game for the season, who would make a solid contribution with 23 possessions.

Carlton were no match for the Crows, who were in the top 3 on the ladder. They kicked 5 goals before Carlton had even entered their forward 50 and by the end of the quarter had scored 7 goals to 1. A 6 goal second quarter, including 3 from Matthew Lappin, who would return to form with 23 possessions, would reduce the half time margin to just 21 points. But from then on the Crows resumed their dominance, restricting Carlton to just one goal in each of the remaining quarters, while adding 8 themselves to run out 64 point winners. While Carlton's effort could not be faulted and it won the hard ball gets 41 to 33, it was no match skill wise for the Crows and repeatedly turned the ball over.

Heath Scotland continued to be Carlton's top possession winner, with a season high 33, as did Adam Bentick with 25 and Marc Murphy with 24.


B: 20 Cory McGrath 4 Luke Livingston 29 Heath Scotland
HB: 32 Bret Thornton 15 David Teague 1 Andrew Walker
C: 28 Ian Prendergast 36 Trent Sporn 6 Kade Simpson
HF: 12 Matthew Lappin (vc) 8 Lance Whitnall (vc) 34 Simon Wiggins
F: 13 Luke Blackwell 25 Brendan Fevola 3 Marc Murphy
Ruck: 10 Dylan McLaren 43 Anthony Koutoufides (c) 24 Nick Stevens (vc)
11 Barnaby French, 5 Josh Kennedy, 33 Ryan Houlihan, 40 Adam Bentick
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Jordan Bannister Eddie Betts Chris Bryan
In: Barnaby French Luke Livingston Ian Prendergast
Trent Sporn David Teague
Out: Jarrad Waite (knee) Adrian Deluca Eddie Betts
Jason Saddington Andrew Carrazzo


50 Games (Carlton): Heath Scotland

Brownlow Votes

3: Andrew McLeod (ADE)
2: Scott Thompson (ADE)
1: Nathan Bassett (ADE)

Round 8 | Round 10
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , molsey , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler and camelboy .
Page last modified on Thursday 08 of March, 2012 19:58:23 AEDT by Bombasheldon.

Google Search

Random Image

1908 Grand Final v Essendon MCG
1996 Rd 12 - Stephen Silvagni pressures Gavin Brown.

Online Users

283 online users