On a Friday night at the MCG, Carlton lost to North Melbourne by 38 points.

Round 9, 1993

Carlton 5.3 33 9.6 60 11.10 76 14.12 96
North Melbourne 7.5 47 13.8 86 17.10 112 20.14 134
Venue: MCG Date: Friday May 21, 1993 (N)
Result: Loss by 38 points Umpires: D.Howlett & P.Cameron. Crowd: 44,833 Gate: $253,291.45
Goalkickers: S.Kernahan 3, R.Welsh 2, R.De Iulio 2, Hanna 2, J.Dorotich 1, A.McKay 1, E.Spalding 1, F.Brown 1, B.Heaver 1.
Best: A.McKay, S.Silvagni, B.Ratten, M.Hanna, F.Brown.
Reports: Craig Bradley (Stomping Jose Romero) - 1 Match. Injuries: G.Williams (shin), E.Spalding (ankle) & T.Alvin (thigh).

Game Review

Carlton would take on ladder-leaders and early season form-setters North Melbourne in this Friday night clash at the MCG. At the time, North were known as the ‘Night Specialists’, and indeed they were the pioneers of this fixture, until the AFL and Collingwood recognised the premium value associated with Friday Night TV.

The Blues would continue their indifferent form against the ‘Roos, who were firing on all cylinders. Carey would kick 5 on Silvagni in a rare loss to the great Full Back, but it was the Roo’s support goal kickers of Mark Roberts, Adrian McAdam and John Longmire who would keep the game away from Carlton’s grasp.

Again, “Diesel” was well held, while Bradley and Hanna would be our two highest possession winners.

Braddles sustained the only suspension of his League career for stomping Jose Romero. Wonder if Jose did anything to incite this behaviour (that's a rhetorical question).

The League announced just before the start of this match that Andrew McKay and North's Robert Pyman were being heavily fined, for bring the Draft into question when they sent letter's to "certain Clubs telling them that they wouldn't play with them if picked."

Again, Dora contrived to kick the turf instead of the ball. He was consequently dropped, and although he played again later in the year, his career was, for all intents and purposes, over.


B: 33 Matthew Hogg 1 Stephen Silvagni 7 Brett Ratten
HB: 14 Michael Sexton 13 Mil Hanna 39 Ang Christou
C: 5 Andrew McKay 2 Greg Williams 31 Tom Alvin
HF: 20 Fraser Brown 11 Earl Spalding 34 Ron De Iulio
F: 6 Jon Dorotich 4 Stephen Kernahan (c) 17 Brent Heaver
Ruck: 44 Justin Madden 21 Craig Bradley (vc) 12 Adrian Gleeson
Interchange: 38 Rohan Welsh 35 Peter Dean
Coach: David Parkin

Round 8 | Round 10
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , AgeofPericles , PatsFitztrick , kkk , WillowBlue , molsey and admin .
Page last modified on Friday 21 of June, 2013 22:36:24 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

117 online users