John Coleman Medallist

This award is presented to the leading goalkicker at the end of the home and away season and was first awarded in 1981. In July 2004 at a special AFL Function, retrospective Coleman Medals were awarded to the leading goalkickers from 1955 to 1980 (1955 being the year after John Coleman retired from Essendon due to injury).

Since that time, Carlton has had 4 John Coleman Medallists (5 Medals overall):

Year Player Goals Kicked
1961 Tom Carroll 54
2006 Brendan Fevola 84
2009 Brendan Fevola 86*
2021 Harry McKay 58
2022 Charlie Curnow 64

NB * denotes goals kicked to Round 22. Coleman Medals are awarded on Home & Away goals.

Carlton's first Coleman went to 'Turkey' Tom Carroll. Interestingly, Carroll would be our top goal-kicker for each of 1961, 1962 and 1963, but Carroll's tally of goals was higher in 1962 than in his award winning year.

Then, some 45 years later, Brendan Fevola would repeat the feat with a massive 84 goals, a huge improvement on his 49 goals in 2005 and efforts in the 60's in both 2004 and 2003. 2006 was indeed the breakthrough year for Fevola, and his goal-kicking spree continued with his personal best of 1999 in 2008 (second in the Coleman to Lance Franklin of Hawthorn), and then managing his second Coleman in 2009 with 86 majors.

At the same function in 1981, Leading Goalkicker Awards were granted to players that were the leading goalkicker at the end of the home and away season from 1897 to 1954. Click HERE to review the Blues successful on this basis.

Carlton's Greatest Goalkickers | Century Goalkickers | League Leading Goalkicker
Contributors to this page: molsey , BlueWorld and true_blue24 .
Page last modified on Saturday 24 of September, 2022 14:29:38 AEST by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

Tom & Jim Carroll with fan
1992 - Former Blue; Scott Spalding in WAFL Team of the Year.

Online Users

243 online users