1980 Night Series

1980 ‘Night’ Series Third Round

Carlton 2.4 16 4.5 29 7.8 50 9.12 66
South.Fremantle 5.4 34 10.5 65 16.10 106 23.19 157
Venue: East Fremantle (Day) Date: Sunday March 16, 1980
Result: Lose by 91 points Umpires: R.Buckey & J.Morris (WA umpires) Crowd: 6,000
Goalkickers: W.Johnston 3, B.Armstrong 1, R.Ashman 1, M.Fitzpatrick 1, Warren Jones 1, A.Marcou 1 & K.Sheldon 1.
Best: W.Johnston, W.Jones, K.Sheldon, J.Buckley, P.Francis

Game Review

Carlton was still in the middle of the 1979 meltdown when Jezza and George Harris walkout of the Club around the AGM. This was Peter Jones first game as coach.

Wayne Harmes was injured during in the 1st half and would miss the first 7 games of the season.

Barry Armstrong was reported for striking future Tiger star Maurice Rioli but escaped with a reprimand.

Last season's VFL premiers Carlton were annihilated by WA club South Fremantle in their AFC Escort Cup match in Perth on Sunday. The bewildered Blues were never in the race against South Fremantle and went down by 91 points. It was hard to believe Carlton were the team that won the VFL premiership six months ago. The Blues made almost every fundamental error. They dropped easy marks, fumbled frequently, missed goals from directly in front, kicked out on the full many times and were generally flatfooted. New coach Peter Jones was forced to make wholesale changes at half time in a bid to lift the Blues. Surprisingly he switched Bruce Doull, his best defender to centre-half forward and forward Geoff Ironmonger to centre-half back. Doull managed only one kick in the second half while Ironmonger did not even equal that.

Peter Jones also had Mike Fitzpatrick and Warren Jones changing at full-forward. They kicked only one goal between them in the second half. Half-forward Wayne Johnston was the only Carlton player to put in four good quarters. He was in fine form and kicked three goals. South Fremantle outscored Carlton in every quarter. In the final term, as the Blues stopped to a walk, South Fremantle piled on seven goals to two. Naturally enough, South Fremantle coach Mal Brown was delighted with his team's victory while Carlton coach Peter Jones was extremely disappointed.

Team 1980 'Night' Series Third Round

B: 10 Alan Mangels 18 Kevin Heath 30 Graeme Whitnall
HB: 22 Robbert Klomp 11 Bruce Doull 37 Wayne Harmes
C: 19 Michael Young 16 Jim Buckley 47 Peter Francis
HF: 7 Wayne Johnston 36 Mark Maclure 12 Barry Armstrong
F: 2 Warren 'Wow' Jones 23 Geoff Ironmonger 34 Alex Marcou
Ruck: 3 Mike Fitzpatrick 5 Ken Sheldon 14 Rod Ashman
Interchange: 27 Des English 4 Vin Catoggio
Coach: Peter Jones

1980 | 1979 Night Series | 1981 Night Series
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , kkk , WillowBlue , BlueWorld and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 30 of March, 2013 10:55:47 AEDT by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

103 online users