Carlton defeated Collingwood by 32 points at Victoria Park

Round 3, 1959

Venue: Victoria ParkDate: Saturday May 9, 1959
Result: Win by 32 pointsUmpire: Bob Nunn Crowd: 33,903
Goalkickers: G.Burke 4, G.Donaldson 3, S.Silvagni 2, B.Williams 2, P.Barry 1, G.Gilchrist 1, D.Nicholls 1.
Best: G.Donaldson (BOG), J.Nicholls, B.Comben, L.Kerr, G.Gilchrist, B.Williams
Reports: Injuries: D.Beasy (torn shoulder ligament) replaced by B.Cox at half time. G.Burke (bruised thigh) by V.Garra in last quarter

Game Review

The reining premiers were a shadow of the team that had a shock win in last year's Grand Final.
"Once again the feature of Carlton's win was the greatly improved form of ruckman Graham Donaldson. His development from the rather raw player of 1958 to the smoothly working, competent follower of 1959 has stiffened the backbone of Carlton's team and given it a solid basis for the attacking football it is playing now." The Age
Collingwood's rucks were on top in the first 15 minutes but then Graham Donaldson took over. He was well backed up by John Nicholls, and the two ruckmen provided the rovers with plenty of opportunities. The backline kept their opponents under pressure with Bruce Comben starring in the back pocket. With his pin point passing, Comben was able to find loose men in in the likes of Graham Gilchrist, Don Nicholls, and Denis Zeunert with ease. Laurie Kerr led a winning centre line which launched plenty of attacking moves. Carlton were too fast and overpowered the Magpies in the marking contests.
John Chick (influenza) was replaced in the selected team by Doug Beasy.

When Carlton beat Collingwood 14.10(94) to 9.8.(62), an irate Magpie fan jumped the fence and had threatening words with umpire Bob Nunn. A policeman rushed to the ump's aid, saying "Hit him and I'II knock your block off". Then an umpire's trainer chipped in "and I'II be in it too". This was Al Basten, former Australian middleweight champ. The barracker wisely fled the scene. - 100 Years of Australian Rules Football.

Goal Kicking

Sergio Silvagni is third on the list with 11 goals, 3 behind the leader. Gerald Burke is eighth with 9 goals.


B: 15 Bruce Comben (c) 25 George Ferry 2 John Nicholls
HB: 19 Denis Zeunert 14 Bob Crowe 10 John James
C: 17 Doug Beasy 11 Laurie Kerr 28 Graham Gilchrist
HF: 7 Bruce Williams 18 Peter Barry 12 Don Nicholls
F: 5 Gerald Burke 1 Serge Silvagni 6 Leo Brereton
Ruck: 13 Graham Donaldson (acting vc) 16 Kevin Clarke 37 John Heathcote
Res: 24 Vic Garra 9 Berkley Cox
Coach: Ken Hands

Round 2 | Round 4
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , blueycarlton , molsey , WillowBlue , steve and admin .
Page last modified on Thursday 11 of July, 2013 19:21:19 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Google Search

Random Image

1933 Rnd 1 v South Melbourne crowd Princes Park
Constance Paul.jpg

Online Users

199 online users