Cazaly Awards

In 1973, inconjunction with GTV 9, the Truth Newspaper created the Cazaly award. The Gold Cazaly was presented to the most outstanding VFL footballer as voted by the Truth Newspaper writers and GTV 9 commentators. The presentation for this award was made at the Southern Cross Hotel on the Monday night before the Grand Final. In addition to the Gold Cazaly, silver Cazaly awards were also presented to the Most popular player for each club as voted by the supporters. A team of the year was also selected and each player who was selected in each of these positions was presented with a silver Cazaly award. The presentation was screened live on GTV 9.

Gold Cazaly Award - Winner

1981: Rod Ashman

Silver Cazaly Awards - Runner-up

1979 Wayne Harmes

Silver Award - Full-Back

1973 Geoff Southby

Silver Award - Half Back-Flank

1975 Alex Jesaulenko
1977 Bruce Doull

Silver Award - Centre Half-Back

1974 Bruce Doull

Silver Award - Centreman

1974 Barry Armstrong

Silver Award - Centre Half-Forward

1973 Robert Walls

Silver Cazaly Award - Best Captain

1973 John Nicholls
1979 Alex Jesaulenko

1973 Geoff Southby
1974 Barry Armstrong
1975 Alex Jesaulenko

Players | Player Awards
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon .
Page last modified on Saturday 24 of December, 2011 00:28:55 AEDT by Bombasheldon.

Random Image

1989 Rd 22 - Phil Poursanidis.
1987 - Steve Silvagni article (page 1 of 2).

Online Users

170 online users