Carlton lost to Hawthorn by 45 points at Princes Park.

Round 1, 1987

Venue: Princes Park
Date: Saturday March 28, 1987 Result: Lost by 45 points
Umpires: P.Cameron & J.RussoCrowd: 20,192 $54,549
Goalkickers: S.Kernahan 4, S.Silvagni 3, F.Murphy 2, B.Evans, D.Glascott, J.Madden, P.Motley, M.Naley & P.Sartori 1.
Best: J.Madden, P.Rohde, S.Kernahan, B.Shine, W.Johnston.
Reports: Rhys-Jones (unduly rough play), Loveridge (Haw- alleged indecent behaviour)
Injuries: S.Robertson - strained hamstring.

Game Review

Round 1 of the new season brought about a rematch of the 1986 Grand Final between Carlton and Hawthorn. On that day, the Hawks would convincingly defeat the Blues and Carlton set out to avenge their loss after a full pre-season.

It was not to be. In a remarkably similar game to the previous Grand Final, the Hawks would pump us with a 5 goal to 1 second quarter, and we couldn’t peg them back. We were down by 31 points at the main break, and despite a few threatening moments, the Hawks would kick 22 goals to win by 45 points.

The Dominator, Wayne Johnston, was known to remark to the press that Hawthorn had thrashed us playing as they had in the Grand Final, and that we hadn’t learned anything from the loss. Perhaps fair at the time, but the Blues would only lose 3 more matches all season and would ultimately take the Flag that year; our 15th.

Lack of discipline during the preseason did not help the Blues cause with key players missing through suspension. Ian Herman missed the first round through suspension, and Jon Doritich missing the first two rounds after being suspended for striking future team-mate Greg Williams.

Best for Carlton: Madden, Shine, Kernahan, Rohde, Glascott and Silvagni.

Carlton's main possession winners for this game were Peter Rohde with 23, Wayne Johnston with 21 and David Glascott with 22 touches.


B: 10 Brad Shine 1 Stephen Silvagni 31 Tom Alvin
HB: 2 Peter Motley 35 Peter Dean 26 David Rhys-Jones
C: 32 David Glascott 7 Wayne Johnston 21 Craig Bradley
HF: 38 Shane Robertson 4 Stephen Kernahan (c) 17 Mark Naley
F: 18 Peter Sartori 34 Darren Ogier 15 Bernie Evans
Ruck: 44 Justin Madden (vc) 23 Paul Meldrum 14 Dean Strauch
Interchange: 30 Fraser Murphy 41 Peter Rohde
Coach: Robert Walls



Debuts: Mark Naley, Peter Sartori
First game as Captain: Stephen Kernahan

Brownlow Votes

3: Michael Tuck (HAW)
2: Chris Mew (HAW)
1: Paul Meldrum (CARL)

1987 | Round 2
Contributors to this page: Jarusa , Bombasheldon , molsey , WillowBlue , BlueWorld and admin .
Page last modified on Tuesday 24 of December, 2019 22:20:43 AEDT by Jarusa.

Online Users

142 online users