Carlton lost to Port Power by 14 points - MCG. Fevola's 100th game.

Round 19, 2005

Carlton 6.3 39 12.8 80 14.10 94 16.13 109
Port Adelaide 6.1 37 10.6 66 14.11 95 18.15 123
Venue: MCG Date: Sun 7 August 2005
Result: Loss by 14 points Crowd: 16,371
Goalkickers: Waite 4, Lappin 3, Fevola 2, Koutoufides, Wiggins, Scotland, French, Simpson, Bentick, Betts
Umpires: McBurney, Quigley, Hendrie
Reports: Fevola (striking & wrestling), Lappin (wrestling)- cleared

Game Review

After a strong win in Round 18 against the Tigers, Carlton set out to ruin the end of Port's year who were struggling to keep themselves in the Top 8.

Carlton would start with Whitnall again back in defence to continue the end-of-season trend, youngster Adam Bentick on star pacey midfielder Peter Burgoyne and Fevola up at full forward. In a spirited opening, the Blues would match goal for goal with Port, although Burgoyne would teach Bentick a few lessons about positioning around the pack. It was an odd match-up to start with, perhaps Pagan was trying to teach Bentick how hard the big game can be, and Burgoyne's 3 goals in the first quarter stole the scene.

The Blues kept up the effort in the second quarter and at one stage held a 25 point lead but 2 late goals to the Power would reduce the half time margin to 14 points. This quarter was perhaps most famous for a bump on the airborne Simon Wiggins by Crowd bad-guy Byron Pickett, which would cost Pickett 2 weeks and give Wiggins his goal.

Carlton managed to hang on to that lead mid way through the third but the Power kicked the next 3 to take a one point lead at the final break. The Blues refused to give in and reclaimed the lead but Port came back with another 3 to end up winning by 14 points.

Scott Camporeale was the leading possession getter with 25. Matthew Lappin had 21 disposals and kicked 3 goals, while Jarrad Waite kicked 4.


B: 16 Scott Camporeale (vc) 32 Bret Thornton 15 David Teague
HB: 20 Cory McGrath 8 Lance Whitnall 44 Andrew Carrazzo
C: 6 Kade Simpson 24 Nick Stevens 29 Heath Scotland
HF: 12 Matthew Lappin 30 Jarrad Waite 14 Brad Fisher
F: 21 Troy Longmuir 25 Brendan Fevola 19 Eddie Betts
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 43 Anthony Koutoufides (c) 40 Adam Bentick
34 Simon Wiggins, 22 Callum Chambers, 27 Chris Bryan, 3 Digby Morrell
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Justin Davies Simon Wiggins* Ian Prendergast
In: Bret Thornton Simon Wiggins* * late change
Out: Ian Prendergast Luke Livingston*

-*Late change Wiggins for Livingston


100 Games: Brendan Fevola

Brownlow Votes

3: Peter Burgoyne (PA)
2: Jarrad Waite (CARL)
1: Michael Wilson (PA)

Best & Fairest Votes

Jarrad Waite (39), Matthew Lappin (34), Scott Camporeale (33), Adam Bentick (32), Kade Simpson (30), Lance Whitnall (7), David Teague (6), Brad Fisher (5), Eddie Betts (4)

Round 18 | Round 20
Contributors to this page: molsey , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Sunday 25 of November, 2007 14:04:15 AEDT by molsey.

Online Users

60 online users