Wooden Spoons

Carlton's proud record of never winning a Wooden Spoon (in VFL/AFL) came crashing down around us in Season 2002, and was repeated twice shortly thereafter. The rebuild then took shape, with finals between 2009 to 2011, but we were all shocked to see the Blues flounder once again and two more spoons would follow:

Number Year
1 2002
2 2005
3 2006
4 2015
5 2018


The Blues won their first Wooden Spoon in 1894 in the V.F.A. winning only 2 games. A further 108 years of competition would pass before Carlton would once again take out that dubious honour.

They also finished equal last on 12 match points with Richmond in 1896, which was Carlton's final year in the Association ranks. With percentage taken into account, then Richmond won the Spoon. Carlton's percentage was 51.1% compared to Richmond's 39.69%.

Number Year
1 1894

Premierships | Runners Up | Pre VFL
Contributors to this page: molsey and blueycarlton .
Page last modified on Sunday 07 of October, 2018 14:42:42 AEDT by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

1994 - Can the Blues come again? (pg 2 of 2).
1988 Rd 1 - Opening of the Elliott Stand.

Online Users

215 online users