Carlton defeated Collingwood by 20 points - MCG.

Round 3, 2002

Venue: M.C.G.
Date: Friday April 12, 2002 Result: Win by 20 points
Umpires: Mitchell, James, Rosebury Crowd: 63,864
Goalkickers: Carlton - McKernan, Lappin 3, Hickmont 2, Ratten, Camporeale, Hulme.
Collingwood - Buckley 2, Lockyer, Burns, Lonie, Cloke, N. Davis.
Reports: NilInjuries: Nil

Game Review

Click to expand
Click to expand
Carlton had one of it's few bright moments in 2002 when they outplayed a very sloppy Magpies side on a wet Friday night game at the MCG. There were some terrible errors made by the Pies backline that resulted in easy goals for the Blues and Buckley was very inaccurate in front of goal. The Blues tackled hard and applied plenty of pressure. A 4 goal to 1 first quarter set up the victory.

For Carlton Corey McKernan was very good up forward with 3 goals, including a terrific set shot goal off the boundary line in the last quarter which ensured the win. Matthew Lappin also kicked 3 while Adrian Hickmott kicked 2. Justin Murphy was Best on Ground with 26 possessions and was well supported in the midfield by Brett Ratten, Scott Camporeale and Darren Hulme. Lance Whitnall led the defence, which conceded just 7 goals.

Following the match Collingwood President, Eddie McGuire, blasted his players about their loss. It was later commented that this game was the catalyst for Collingwood's march into the finals in 2002. It was to hold no such glory for Carlton.

Although not up there in quality or stature, this game is remembered by Carlton fans as one of the better wins of the era. For more games like this, please click here.


B: 45 Anthony Franchina 22 Glenn Manton 10 Michael Mansfield
HB: 5 Andrew McKay (vc) 8 Lance Whitnall 29 Simon Beaumont
C: 17 Scott Freeborn 7 Brett Ratten (c) 9 Adrian Hickmott (dvc)
HF: 21 Craig Bradley 36 Trent Sporn 12 Matthew Lappin
F: 19 Andrew Merrington 2 Corey McKernan 27 Darren Hulme
Ruck: 24 Matthew Allan 18 Justin Murphy 16 Scott Camporeale
Interchange: 34 Simon Wiggins 40 Jim Plunkett 28 Ian Prendergast
33 Ryan Houlihan
Coach: Wayne Brittain
Emg: Simon Fletcher Brendan Fevola Andrew Merrington*
In: Darren Hulme, Scott Freeborn
Out: Simon Fletcher, Brendan Fevola

-*David Gallagher was a late withdrawal (ankle)- replaced by Merrington

Brownlow Votes

3: Justin Murphy (CARL)
2: Scott Camporeale (CARL)
1: Nathan Buckley (COLL)

Round 2 | Round 4
Contributors to this page: Grisdesa , molsey , Bombasheldon , WillowBlue , BlueWorld , true_blue24 , kruddler , tralby and admin .
Page last modified on Wednesday 25 of September, 2019 00:15:16 AEST by Grisdesa.

Google Search

Random Image

1995 Qual Final - Hanna, Whitehead, Kouta, Rice & Brown.
1946 - G.Cameron for Willy? (25/6/46).

Online Users

257 online users