Carlton lost this away game to Port Power to begin 2019 with 2 straight losses

Round 2, 2019

Carlton 5.2 32 5.4 34 9.5 59 11.6 72
Port Adelaide Power 4.2 26 8.5 53 9.8 62 13.10 88
Venue: . Adelaide Oval
Date: Saturday 30th March, 2019 (4.40 pm)
Result: Lost by 16 points.
Crowd: 41,552
Goalkickers: H. McKay 2, M. McGovern 2, E. Curnow, P. Dow, A. Fasolo, S. Petrevski-Seton, C. Polson, W. Setterfield, K. Simpson 1.
Reports: Nil.
Umpires: D. Harris, L. Haussen, M. Stevic
Injuries: C. Curnow (knee)
Ladder: 15th

Game Review

Blues come up short against Port
Carlton came up just short against Port Adelaide in a fluctuating Round 2 contest at Adelaide Oval. After bursting out of the blocks, Carlton had to wrestle back the hosts in a stirring third quarter to set up a grandstand finish. Despite the best efforts of Patrick Cripps and his teammates, the Blues ultimately succumbed by 16 points to the Power.

Quarter-by-quarter breakdown:
Q1: It was the Blues with the perfect start to the game, after Harry McKay found himself all alone in the goal square to kick the opening goal. From then on, it was a see-sawing affair, with the Power able to match the Blues with every score. The Blues’ pressure and constant entries inside 50 allowed them to pull away towards the end of the quarter, before a late Port goal saw Carlton take a six-point lead into the first break.

Q2: The momentum switched Port Adelaide’s way in the second term, as they kicked four unanswered goals for the term. Charlie Curnow’s absence after suffering a knee injury late in the first term meant the Blues had to restructure their forward half. Andrew Phillips and Patrick Cripps continued to fight hard around the ground, while Jacob Weitering marked strongly.

Q3: A shower of rain during the main break made the start of the third term difficult for both teams. The Blues were able to claw one back after Mitch McGovern showed great composure to find Paddy Dow open in the forward line. It was the start of an inspired term from McGovern, with the 50-gamer producing back-to-back goals to will the Blues right back into the contest. The Blues brought it back to a two-point game at the final change.

Q4: The job was made all the more difficult for the Blues when Brad Ebert goaled in the opening seconds of the term, before that was followed with consecutive goals to Steven Motlop. Weitering battled manfully in defence, but late consolation goals to Alex Fasolo and Kade Simpson proved too little, too late in a 15-point loss.

Moment of the match:
When the Blues needed a spark, Mitch McGovern arrived. After Port threatened to run away with the contest, Carlton rallied in the third term and the 50-gamer was crucial. A big tackle and a true set shot was immediately followed by a classy snap, kicking two goals in a minute and bringing the Blues right back into the game.

Player of the match:
Pitted against Port Adelaide’s 250-gamer, Jacob Weitering delivered for the Blues in defence. After Justin Westhoff kicked five goals in the season opener, Weitering gave him nothing for the entirety of the contest. Carlton’s No.23 had eight intercept possessions, seven rebound 50s and 10 one percenters while keeping Westhoff goalless.

Three things we learned:
These Blues have fight. While in 2018 this game may have gotten away from Carlton, the ability from its youngsters to step up and will their team right back into the game was a major positive. Despite such a bright start and a third-quarter fightback, the Blues are still desperate for their first win in 2019. While they’ll reset and go again against Sydney next week, this will feel like a missed opportunity. This game could be the making of Sam Petrevski-Seton. With Patrick Cripps needing some support in the middle of the ground, the third-year Blue demonstrated his class and skill in the most difficult of conditions. He finished with 21 disposals and a goal. - Julian Wallace.

Best: P. Cripps, P. Dow, S. Walsh, J. Weitering, L. Plowman, S. Petrevski-Seton.


B: 24 Nic Newan 14 Liam Jones 20 Lachie Plowman
HB: 6 Kade Simpson 23 Jacob Weitering 39 Dale Thomas
C: 3 Marc Murphy 9 Patrick Cripps (c) 18 Sam Walsh
HF: 25 Zac Fisher 30 Charlie Curnow 35 Ed Curnow
F: 11 Mitch McGovern 10 Harry McKay 40 Michael Gibbons
Ruck: 34 Andrew D Phillips 43 Will Setterfield 5 Sam Petrevski-Seton
Interchange: 2 Paddy Dow 21 Jarrod Garlett 29 Cameron Polson
32 Alex Fasolo
Coach: Brendon Bolton
Emg: 1 Jack Silvagni, 4 Lochie O'Brien, 27 Matthew Lobbe, , 41 Levi Casboult

In; Cameron Polson
Out; David Cuningham (Injured - kidneys)


50 Games (AFL): Mitch McGovern
First Goal: Will Setterfield
Last Game: Jarrod Garlett


10 - Scott Lycett (PORT)
6 - Travis Boak (PORT)
5 - Patrick Cripps (CARL)
4 - Dan Houston (PORT)
3 - Tom Rockliff (PORT)
1 - Brad Ebert (PORT)
1 - Darcy Byrne-Jones (PORT)

Brownlow Votes

3. Patrick Cripps
2. Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
1. Tom Rockliff (Port Adelaide)

Best & Fairest Votes

Patrick Cripps 11, Lachie Plowman 10, Jacob Weitering 8, Liam Jones 5, Paddy Dow 4, Harry McKay 4, Sam Petrevski-Seton 4, Sam Walsh 4, Will Setterfield 3, Mitch McGovern 2, Cameron Polson 2, Ed Curnow 1.




The AFLW Grand Final, Adelaide v Carlton was played the next day at the same venue. The record breaking attendance (for women's football) was 53,034 - a 99% capacity crowd.

Round 1 | Round 3
Contributors to this page: blueycarlton , WillowBlue , Bombasheldon and molsey .
Page last modified on Monday 25 of November, 2019 09:08:33 AEDT by blueycarlton.

Google Search

Random Image

Harry Sullivan.jpg
1986 - Mil Hanna's injury battle.

Online Users

402 online users