The MCG scoreboard went up in flames, and Carlton lost to Richmond in Andrew McKay's 150th game.

Round 22, 1999

Carlton 1.2 8 3.5 23 5.6 36 11.13 79
Richmond 4.7 31 7.9 51 10.12 72 13.12 90
Venue: MCG Date: Fri 27 August, 1999 (night)
Result: Lost by 11 Points Umpires: Harvey, Howlett, Dore Crowd: 34,013
Goalkickers: Whitnall 4, Allan 2, Backwell 1, Hamill 1, Nelson 1, Ratten 1, Silvagni 1
Reports: Nil Injuries: Nil

Game Review

There was a sensational incident prior to this match, when an electrical fault started a fire that badly damaged the MCG scoreboard. Spectators from the immediate vicinity were shepherded on to the arena, and the game was delayed for half an hour until the blaze was extinguished.

On the previous Monday night, Richmond coach Jeff Gieschen had resigned, ending a fruitless three-season stay at Punt Road. Therefore, with their futures under a cloud, the Tiger players came out snarling from the first bounce, and were never headed. Carlton did stage a spirited last-quarter revival to get within a couple of kicks, but time ran out and Richmond emerged victorious by 11 points.

This was an ominous portent for the following week’s final against Brisbane, who were in great form. Carlton coach David Parkin was greatly disappointed in his team – especially because it was Andrew McKay’s 150th match - and he made his feelings clear behind closed doors immediately after the game.

Best for the Blues were Craig Bradley, who picked up 30 possessions and three Brownlow Medal votes, Matthew Allan (22 disposals, 27 hit-outs, 2 goals) and Justin Murphy (29 possessions). Lance Whitnall kicked 4 goals, and was a constant threat to the Tiger defence.

Despite this defeat, Carlton ended the 1999 home and away season 6th on the ladder, with a percentage of 103.0%.


B: 23 Dean Rice 1 Stephen Silvagni (vc) 14 Michael Sexton
HB: 5 Andrew McKay 22 Glenn Manton 9 Adrian Hickmott
C: 3 Kris Massie 7 Brett Ratten 18 Justin Murphy
HF: 29 Simon Beaumont 8 Lance Whitnall 31 Simon Fletcher
F: 30 Adam White 36 Aaron Hamill 15 Ben Nelson
Ruck: 24 Matthew Allan 45 Anthony Franchina 21 Craig Bradley (c)
12 Matthew Lappin, 33 Matthew Hogg, 39 Ang Christou, 10 Brett Backwell
Coach: David Parkin
Emg: Damien Lock Ron De Iulio Brad Pearce
In: Brett Backwell Ang Christou Anthony Franchina
Adam White Matthew Hogg
Out: Fraser Brown (thigh) Scott Camporeale (ankle) Ron De Iulio
Murray Vance Brad Pearce (final)


150 Games: Andrew McKay

Brownlow Votes

3: Craig Bradley (CARL)
2: Matthew Knights (RICH)
1: Brad Ottens (RICH)

Round 21 | Qualifying Final
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , molsey , PatsFitztrick , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler , thehalford and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 15 of June, 2013 20:52:00 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Google Search

Random Image

1988 Rd 1 - Brad Shine gets a clearing kick.
1996 Rd 4 - Justin Madden.

Online Users

176 online users
  • blueycarlton