Carlton won their second game in a row by spoiling Collingwood's 125th anniversary at the MCG

Round 7, 2017

Carlton 3.4 22 6.5 41 11.5 71 12.7 79
Collingwood 1.3 9 3.5 23 7.6 48 8.8 56
Venue: MCG
Date: Saturday May 6, 2017
Result: Won by 23 points
Crowd: 70,279
Goalkickers: S. Petresvki-Seton 2, M. Wright 2, L. Casboult 2, K. Simpson, J. Weitering, N. Graham, C. Curnow, B. Gibbs, D. Thomas 1.
Umpires: L. Foot, R. Findlay, S. McInerney

Game Review

The Blues won their second game in a row in spoiling Collingwood's 125th anniversary in this fantastic match at the MCG. The Blues appeared disciplined and controlled in this match and won comfortably in the end, in what we all hope is a sign of emerging maturity (and greatness!) from the young Blues.

At selection the Blues continued the theme of 'mature bodies' post the shellacking in the Port match, although this was enabled mainly through injury with Jack Silvagni and Zac Fisher both hurt in Round 6. In came Sam Kerridge for his 50th AFL match and Dale Thomas after a strong game in the VFL post his soreness complaint. The Blues had selected a rather mature team age-wise but with wet conditions forecast, strength over the ball may have come in to consideration.


B: 15 Sam Docherty 44 Alex Silvagni 43 Simon White
HB: 20 Lachie Plowman 17 Sam Rowe 22 Caleb Marchbank
C: 6 Kade Simpson (vc) 4 Bryce Gibbs 35 Ed Curnow
HF: 39 Dale Thomas 30 Charlie Curnow 5 Sam Petrevski-Seton
F: 23 Jacob Weitering 41 Levi Casboult 46 Matthew Wright
Ruck: 8 Matthew Kreuzer 9 Patrick Cripps 3 Marc Murphy (c)
Interchange: 11 Sam Kerridge 16 Billie Smedts 31 Tom Williamson
32 Nick Graham
Coach: Brendon Bolton
Emg: 14 Liam Jones, 26 Harrison Macreadie, 28 David Cuningham


50 Games (AFL): Sam Kerridge
Rising Stars:Sam Petrevski-Seton
Interesting Fact: With this win, Carlton restored a 50% W/L record against the Pies (254 games; 127 wins)
Jubilee Spoilers: Carlton defeated Collingwood in their very first VFA match in 1892. Subsequently the Blues have won on each of Collingwood's anniversary matches, 25 years, 50 years, 75 years, 100 years and now the 125th. celebration. Their 150th in 2042? - definitely!

Image Image

Brownlow Votes

3. Sam Petrevski-Seton (CAR)
2. Ben Reid (COL)
1. Kade Simpson (CAR)

Best & Fairest Votes (5 votes+)

Sam Petrevski-Seton 12, Matthew Kreuzer 11, Caleb Marchbank 9, Marc Murphy 9,
Ed Curnow 8, Kade Simpson 8, Sam Docherty 7, Patrick Cripps 5, Bryce Gibbs 5, Lachie Plowman 5, Alex Silvagni 5, Matthew Wright 5

Round 6 | Round 8
Contributors to this page: WillowBlue , molsey , blueycarlton and Bombasheldon .
Page last modified on Tuesday 03 of October, 2017 08:08:13 AEDT by WillowBlue.

Google Search

Random Image

1967 - Future Blue Chris Mitchell.
1988 - Ken Hunter (10/06/88).

Online Users

205 online users