Carlton defeated the Kangaroos by 13 points - MCG. Whitnall's 100th game.

Round 9, 2001

Kangaroos 6.1379.4 589.76110.969
Venue: M.C.G.
Date: Fri 25-May-2001 (night) Result: Carlton won by 13 points
Umpires: H Kennedy, S Wenn, D WoodcockCrowd: 43,624
Goalkickers: S.Camporeale 2, M.Lappin 2, M.Mansfield 2, S.Beaumont 1, B.Fevola 1, R.Houlihan 1, D.Hulme 1, B.Ratten, L.Whitnall 1.
Best: S.Beaumont, C.Bradley, S.Camporeale, M.Mansfield, L.Whitnall, D.Hulme, R.Houlihan.
Reports: Nil Injuries: Nil

Game Review

Click to expand
Click to expand
Carlton would record a magnificent come from behind win against the Roos, its third straight win. It would start poorly, to be 35 points down at half time. But some clever moves at half time by coach Wayne Brittain would help get Carlton back into the game. Darren Hulme would inspire the Blues' revival in the third quarter, when forced to take on two Roos players, yet was still able to beat them both to win the ball and force a turnover, which would result in an important goal that would change the course of the game. He would be judged Best on Ground. Ryan Houlihan (kicking an impossible goal on his non dominant foot), Simon Beaumont (23 possessions, 7 marks, 1 goal), Craig Bradley (26 possessions), Brett Ratten (21 possessions, 1 goal), Lance Whitnall (8 marks, 1 goal), Scott Freeborn (23 possessions, 7 marks), Michael Mansfield (8 marks, 2 goals) and Scott Camporeale (21 possessions, 2 goals) would all play key roles in the revival. The Roos would be held goalless in the third quarter, while the Blues scored 5 goals. They would allow them to score only one further goal for the match, while adding another 4 in the final quarter, to run out winners by 13 points.

Ladder position: 4th


B: 3 Kris Massie 22 Glenn Manton 39 Ang Christou
HB: 5 Andrew McKay 29 Simon Beaumont 45 Anthony Franchina
C: 17 Scott Freeborn 7 Brett Ratten 21 Craig Bradley (c)
HF: 12 Matthew Lappin 8 Lance Whitnall 9 Adrian Hickmott
F: 25 Brendan Fevola 1 Stephen Silvagni (vc) 27 Darren Hulme
Ruck: 11 Mark Porter 43 Anthony Koutoufides 16 Scott Camporeale
Interchange: 48 Jordan Doering 33 Ryan Houlihan 37 Trent Hotton
10 Michael Mansfield
Coach: Wayne Brittain
Emg: Ben Nelson Jim Plunkett Simon Fletcher



100 Games: Lance Whitnall

Brownlow Votes

3: Darren Hulme (CARL)
2: Shannon Grant (KAN)
1: Ryan Houlihan (CARL)

Round 8 | Round 10
Contributors to this page: Grisdesa , Bombasheldon , molsey , WillowBlue , BlueWorld , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Wednesday 25 of September, 2019 00:35:05 AEST by Grisdesa.

Google Search

Random Image

Luke Michell 2012.jpg
1979 - Mark Maclure & a Bluebird.

Online Users

262 online users