A Tony Lockett goal in the last minute of vthe game gave St Kilda a win by 4 points over the Blues at Moorabbin.

Round 2, 1989

St Kilda3.4227.10529.156913.1896
Venue: Moorabbin OvalDate: Saturday April 8, 1989
Result: Lose by 4 pointsUmpires: G Vernon & B.CarlandCrowd: 27,796 Gate: $109,981
Goalkickers: S.Kernahan 3, I.Aitken 2, F.Murphy 2, J.Madden 2 M.Hanna 1, M.Naley 1, P.Sartori 1, D.Glascott 1.
Best: D.Glascott, S.Kernahan, A.Gleeson, D.Rhys-Jones.
Reports: Jon Dorotich (Striking Stewart Loewe) - Not Guilty.
Injuries: Nil.

Game Review

The Blues made six changes to the side thrashed by Footscray but despite a far more desperate effort they couldn't stop Tony Lockett who booted 10 goals 7 including the winning goal in the last 30 seconds of the match.

Lockett was unstoppable and had much the better of SOS despite Stephen's customary valiant performance. At one stage SOS was thrown forward but it soon became apparent "Plugger" would kick 15 or 16 unless Silvagni returned to mind him.

Dora was sailing close to the wind with his 2nd report in consecutive weeks to open the season but fortunately was again found not guilty.

Last Carlton game at Linton Street Oval, Moorabbin.

Youth Injection needed.
Carlton could probably do with a healthy injection of young talent and enthusiasm at the minute. The Blues are lying in 13th place on the ladder and winless after two rounds, haven't really had the need to introduce too many inexperienced players into their line-up in recent seasons. But perhaps the time has come for them to turn to youth. Fraser Brown, Simon Verbeek, Mil Hanna and Dean Strauch played in the side which narrowly lost to St Kilda, but we don't know much about the other Carlton youngsters. - Tony Greenberg Inside Football.


B: 43 Mick Kennedy 1 Stephen Silvagni 9 Ken Hunter
HB: 26 David Rhys-Jones 6 Jon Dorotich 13 Mil Hanna
C: 7 Wayne Johnston 21 Craig Bradley 32 David Glascott
HF: 20 Fraser Brown 4 Stephen Kernahan (c) 22 Ian Aitken
F: 18 Peter Sartori 15 Simon Verbeek 12 Adrian Gleeson
Ruck: 44 Justin Madden (vc) 14 Dean Strauch 17 Mark Naley
Interchange: 47 Andrew McKinnon 30 Fraser Murphy
Emgs: 29 Michael Gallagher 41 Luke O'Sullivan 27 Paul Payne
Coach: Robert Walls

Round 1 | Round 3
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , blueycarlton , PatsFitztrick , kkk , WillowBlue , Andy , Jarusa , molsey and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 22 of June, 2013 19:46:54 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

107 online users