Lance Whitnall kicked 5 goals as Carlton defeated Hawthorn by 42 points at Princes Park.

Round 2, 2000

Venue: Optus OvalDate: Sunday March 19
Result: Win by 42 pointsUmpires: S Wenn ?? Crowd: 21,341
Goalkickers: Whitnall 5, Fevola 4, Camporeale 3, Hamill 2, Fletcher 2, Massie, Ratten, Hickmott, Lappin, Bradley, Hulme 1.
Best: S.Camporeale, B.Ratten, L.Whitnall, A.Koutoufides, T.Hotton, C.Bradley, D.Rice.
Reports: Melee Involvement - Fines as per Game Review.Injuries:

Game Review

show_image.php?id=28030An unusual 12.10 pm start (so that the game could be broadcast on delay at 2pm) probably explains the low attendance of this clash. In any case Carlton easily rolled the Hawks in a high scoring affair.

Hawthorn started the game quite well with their main forward threat, Nick Holland, kicking 4 goals early on Michael Sexton. When Simon Beaumont moved onto Holland, his influence was curtailed (he finished with 6 goals) and the Blues surged ahead.

Carlton's midfield dominated with Craig Bradley terrific again, and the Hawks' 1999 Brownlow Medalist Shane Crawford was thrashed by Scott Camporeale, while Lance Whitnall was far too good for Trent Croad. Carlton’s winning margin could have been even greater if we had kicked straight, having 44 scoring shots compared to the Hawks 22. Young Brendan Fevola was a major culprit, scoring 1.5 in the third quarter.

A melee in the second quarter resulted in:

Carlton : Fraser Brown $2500 fine; Aaron Hamill, Anthony Koutoufides and Ben Nelson, $1750 fines; Brett Ratten and Lance Whitnall, $1500 fines.

Hawthorn: Kris Barlow, Daniel Chick, Jonathon Hay and Angelo Lekkas were fined between $1200 and $2500 each. Paul Salmon and Tony Woods were found not guilty.

Hawthorn's Luke McCabe was suspended for 1 match for striking Scott Camporeale.


B: 37 Trent Hotton 29 Simon Beaumont 23 Dean Rice
HB: 5 Andrew McKay 14 Michael Sexton 10 Michael Mansfield
C: 15 Ben Nelson 20 Fraser Brown 43 Anthony Koutoufides
HF: 9 Adrian Hickmott 8 Lance Whitnall 16 Scott Camporeale
F: 12 Matthew Lappin 4 Aaron Hamill 27 Darren Hulme
Ruck: 24 Matthew Allan 7 Brett Ratten 21 Craig Bradley (c)
Interchange: 45 Anthony Franchina 3 Kris Massie 31 Simon Fletcher
25 Brendan Fevola
Coach: David Parkin
Emg: Glenn Manton Murray Vance

  • Stephen O'Reilly (back) replaced by Ben Nelson


150 Games : Anthony Koutoufides

Brownlow Votes

3 : Craig Bradley (CARL)
2 : Brett Ratten (CARL)
1 : Lance Whitnall (CARL)

Round 1 | Round 3
Contributors to this page: PatsFitztrick , Bombasheldon , molsey , kkk , WillowBlue , BlueWorld , tralby , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Thursday 11 of August, 2016 22:08:33 AEST by PatsFitztrick.

Google Search

Random Image

1910 Rd 14 - Moving Picture of Carlton Vs Fitzroy.
2019 Rookie Draftees; Fraser Phillips & Josh Honey.

Online Users

154 online users