Carlton's engine-room got on top early, and drove the Blues to a narrow but decisive victory over a plucky North Melbourne.

Round 20, 1995

Carlton 6.5 41 10.9 69 15.12 102 18.14 122
North Melbourne 1.2 8 5.5 35 9.10 64 15.13 103
Venue: Optus Oval Date: Saturday August 19, 1995
Result: Win by 19 points Umpires: J.Harvey, J.Russo & R.Sawers. Crowd: 32,065
Goalkickers: G.Williams 5.2, D.Rice 3.1, B.Pearce 3.1, M.Clape 2.0, E.Spalding 1.2, S.Kernahan 1.2, F.Brown 1.1, C.Bradley 1.0, M.Hanna 1.0, A.Christou 0.1, B.Ratten 0.1, A.Whitehead 0.1 rushed 0.2
Best: F.Brown, M.Hanna, C.Bradley, G.Williams, A.Christou, S.Silvagni, J.Madden, A.McKay, D.Rice.
Reports: Nil Injuries: Nil

Game Review

From a tight game against the Bears, to this high-scoring game against the 6th placed Kangaroos, the Blues could win in all types of games. Our big first quarter set up a strong lead (out to 53 point lead during the second quarter) that the Roos would continue to chip away at all the way up to their final last quarter, but the ability to squeeze goals out of multiple players in Brad Pearce, Dean Rice and Greg Williams meant that we were more than a match for the Roos.

Diesel would earn the Umpire’s BOG for his 5 goals, and 26 stats, with ample support in midfield from Mil Hanna – 29 possessions, Craig Bradley – 32 possessions, Brett Ratten – 25 possessions, and Fraser Brown – 26. At half back, our ability to win the ball and rebound is demonstrated no better than 22 possessions to Ang Christou and Andrew McKay.

Wayne Carey was held quiet by Stephen Silvagni, but it would be Mark “Fridge”” Roberts who would prove elusive and quite unstoppable for the Carlton defence, and kick 5 goals. Future Blue Corey McKernan would win the ruck and be dominant around the ground.

Three of Carlton's shots at goal hit the post.

A minutes silence was held prior to the game in memory of E.J "Ted" Whitten who had passed away during the week.


B: 32 Adrian Whitehead 14 Michael Sexton 43 Anthony Koutoufides
HB: 5 Andrew McKay 1 Stephen Silvagni 39 Ang Christou
C: 16 Scott Camporeale 20 Fraser Brown 13 Mil Hanna
HF: 23 Dean Rice 11 Earl Spalding 2 Greg Williams
F: 19 Brad Pearce 4 Stephen Kernahan (c) 6 Matt Clape
Ruck: 44 Justin Madden 7 Brett Ratten 21 Craig Bradley (vc)
Interchange: 8 Troy Bond 17 Brent Heaver 22 Glenn Manton
Coach: David Parkin


Round 19 | Round 21
Contributors to this page: blueycarlton , Jarusa , Bombasheldon , PatsFitztrick , hatbadges , WillowBlue , molsey and admin .
Page last modified on Thursday 28 of May, 2020 08:27:51 AEST by blueycarlton.

Google Search

Random Image

1975 - Ex Blue Ken Laker takes a screamer in the 1975 VFA Grand Final.
1992 - Carlton arrogance (22/04/92).

Online Users

132 online users