Cripps starred as the Blues defeated the Crows at the G

Round 19, 2019

Carlton 4.4 28 7.8 50 10.9 69 13.9 87
Adelaide Crows 4.0 24 5.4 34 7.5 47 9.6 60
Venue: MCG
Date: Saturday 27th July, 2019 (2.10 pm)
Result: Won by 27 points.
Crowd: 38,639
Goalkickers: L. Casboult 3.1, A. Phillips 1.1, H. McKay 1.1, K. Simpson 1.0, M. Kennedy 1.0, J.Silvagni 1.0, P. Cripps 1.0, D. Lang 1.0, J. Deluca 1.0, W. Setterfield 1.1, M. Gibbons 1.1, E. Curnow 0.1, S.Walsh 0.1, rushed 0.2.
Reports: Dale Thomas (CAR) was fined $3000 for a late and high spoil attempt on Lachie Murphy (ADEL).
Umpires: Eleni Glouftsis, David Harris, Brett Rosebury.
Injuries: M. Kennedy (ankle).
Ladder: 16th

Game Review

Cripps dominates in Blue murder of Crows
There were a number of worrying signs for Adelaide at the MCG on Saturday. The first being the obvious – that a demoralising 27-point loss to Carlton resulted in the door for its final spot in the top eight tilting even more ajar for rivals beneath it. Just as concerning, though, was simply how much the Blues – still languishing in 16th on the AFL ladder – looked like the better side in almost every aspect of the contest on their way to a rather comfortable 13.9 (87) to 9.6 (60) win. Playing with the confidence Adelaide now severely lacks, Carlton outclassed and outworked Adelaide from start to finish to secure its fifth victory in seven games under David Teague. But while one performance was littered with Blues positives, the other paints a nervous picture for the Crows, their September hopes and perhaps for the future of coach Don Pyke. Patrick Cripps was the inspiration behind Carlton's win, enhancing his Brownlow Medal chances with 39 disposals, 24 contested possessions, seven tackles and a goal to complement an incredible 19 clearances.

Veteran duo Kade Simpson (31 disposals, 12 marks) and Marc Murphy (31 disposals, five tackles) were also among the best, starring in a Carlton side that featured 11 individual goal kickers. For Adelaide, there was little to smile about. Brad Crouch (30 disposals, one goal) and Rory Sloane (26 disposals, eight tackles) were among the major ball winners, but featured in a Crows side that was thrashed out of the middle of the ground. Among an ageing list, there are almost certainly more questions than answers for Adelaide. Much of the talk leading into the game had centred around one of those veterans, Eddie Betts, and his shock omission from the team. But after Tyson Stengle booted the game's first goal – and Lachie Murphy added a second soon after – Adelaide must have felt justified in its selection of small forwards. Crows skipper Taylor Walker also had two in the first quarter, but the Blues replied and through some nice passages steadied from a slow start to lead at the first change. Cripps and Ed Curnow – who had 29 disposals between them in the first quarter alone – were crucial in helping Carlton gain the ascendency out of the middle.

Their ability to win the ball at will allowed the Blues complete control of the territory battle, helping the hosts pile on six of seven goals on either side of quarter-time. The dominance built a handy 16-point advantage at the main interval, which Carlton set about extending. Levi Casboult, having slotted two nice set-shots in the first half, then added a third when he guided home another from beyond 50m while on the run to start the third quarter. And yet, while Carlton stretched its lead to 28 points early in the term, there was a lingering sense that it would struggle to shake Adelaide and take an insurmountable advantage. But if there were any Blues nerves, Josh Deluca's goal less than 20 seconds into the final quarter – the result of yet another Cripps clearance – immediately settled them. Will Setterfield's snap around the body then broke the back of the Crows, who slumped to their fourth loss in five games and their fourth successive defeat at the MCG. Matt Kennedy limped from the field after appearing to roll his ankle midway through the first quarter. However, having gone down the race, the forward returned for the start of the second term. - Riley Beveridge.

Best; P. Cripps, K. Simpson, M. Murphy, W. Setterfield, E.Curnow, S. Petrevski-Seton, D. Thomas.


B: 6 Kade Simpson 20 Lachie Plowman 14 Liam Jones
HB: 5 Sam Petrevski-Seton 23 Jacob Weitering 39 Dale Thomas
C: 18 Sam Walsh 9 Patrick Cripps (c) 4 Lochie O'Brien
HF: 1 Jack Silvagni 7 Matthew Kennedy 40 Michael Gibbons
F: 41 Levi Casboult 10 Harry McKay 16 Darcy Lang
Ruck: 34 Andrew D Phillips 35 Ed Curnow 3 Marc Murphy
Interchange: 2 Paddy Dow 24 Nic Newman 43 Will Setterfield
47 Josh Deluca
Coach: David Teague
Emg: 26 Harrison Macreadie, 27 Matthew Lobbe, 32 Alex Fasolo, 25 Zac Fisher

In: A. Phillips, P. Dow
Out: M. Kreuzer (managed), Z. Fisher (illness)

Z. Fisher was a late withdrawal due to illness and was replaced in the selected side by P. Dow.


Interesting Fact 1: This was the first time that the club has won three games in a row since Rounds 6 to 8 in 2016.
Interesting Fact 2: This was Carlton's 200th VFL/AFL win at the MCG from 430 games (with 6 draws at a 47.09% winning ratio).
Interesting Fact 3: This was in fact Carlton's 260th win on the MCG from 536 games (with 17 draws)
The Blues first played on the ground in 1877 and had played 106 times for 60 wins, 35 losses and 11 drawn VFA games between 1877 - 1896.
Interesting Fact 4: The Blues would not have at least 10 goal kickers in a game until Round 7, 2021 vs Essendon, which was also played at the MCG.


10 - Patrick Cripps
5 - Levi Casboult
4 - Will Setterfield
4 - Kade Simpson
3 - Marc Murphy
2 - Michael Gibbons
1 - Andrew D Phillips
1 - Sam Walsh

Brownlow Votes

3. Patrick Cripps
2. Kade Simpson
1. Will Setterfield

Best & Fairest Votes

Patrick Cripps 15, Levi Casboult 12, Will Setterfield 12, Sam Walsh 11, Michael Gibbons 10, Kade Simpson 10, Liam Jones 9, Lachie Plowman 9, Ed Curnow 8, Sam Petrevski-Seton 8, Marc Murphy 7, Jack Silvagni 6, Jacob Weitering 6, Dale Thomas 5, Lochie O'Brien 4, Andrew D Phillips 4, Matt Kennedy 3, Darcy Lang 3, Josh Deluca 2.

Round 18 | Round 20
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , molsey , blueycarlton and WillowBlue .
Page last modified on Monday 03 of May, 2021 13:32:49 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Google Search

Random Image

1984 1st Semi Final - A dejected looking Wayne Johnston & Rod Ashman.
1980 - Percy Jones retires (21/06/80).

Online Users

185 online users